Reviews

06 Jun 2017

So Your Hero is a Monster: Dealing with Disillusionment

Heroes are humans, and when they are ruined, when their actions come to light, you didn’t ruin them by telling people. They ruined themselves.

Hannah Harkness 0
06 Mar 2020

Using Delicious Food, to Squash Coronavirus Xenophobia

Misinformation and ignorance is leading to xenophobic acts and heavy drops in Asian restaurant attendance. Avital Tours, a culinary experience company in San Francisco, Los Angeles, and New York is fighting back the best way they know how: with food. They have developed a robust, self-guided walking tour highlighting the best of San Francisco Chinatown.

Alex Mak - Managing Editor 0
15 Jan 2020

The awesome shorts and features at the 22nd SF IndieFest!

Hey, Broke-Ass Readers!  Are you ready to encounter a beautiful nude woman with a glowing crucifix on her body?  How about seeing in person the man who brought the world “The Great Rock ‘N’ Roll Swindle?” Or do you want to hear the strange-but-true story of the attempt to create a “Sundance of the East?”  If you answered yes to at least one of these questions, you’re ready for the 2020 edition of the San Francisco Independent Film Festival aka S.F. IndieFest!

0
30 Dec 2019

10 Tips Just in Case You Want to See CATS on Acid

by Hannah Harkness I will start by saying that this is not a review of CATS (2019). If you want a review of CATS, use your old pal Google to find the flock of culture vultures currently circling this CGI nightmare. I do not presume to have any new analysis

Guest Writer 0
19 Dec 2019

2019’s Best Indie Horror Films

by Jonas Barnes This year was full of blockbusters, franchise milestones, and what will be the end of a decades long saga with Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, but I’m not here to talk about those. I’m a cinema fan across the board, but I’m specifically an indie cinema

Guest Writer 0
19 Dec 2019

‘Cats’ Coughs up a 17% on Rotten Tomatoes, Reviews are HILARIOUS

Feline getting tortured for 2 hours?  The CGI film adaption of ‘Cats’ that cost $95 million to make, is an uncanny valley full of cat puns, celebrities in weird computer fur, and horrific plot choices according to most film critics. British director Tom Hooper, who previously turned the stage musical

Alex Mak - Managing Editor 0
12 Dec 2019

Worst Song of All Time?: “We Didn’t Start the Fire” Turns 30

Nighttime radio host and soother of broken hearts Delilah once remarked that the No. 1, No. 2, and No. 3 requests she got were, “ ‘Wind Beneath My Wings,’ ‘Wind Beneath My Wings,’ and ‘Wind Beneath My Wings.’ ” Ubiquitous though it is, Bette Midler’s pop anthem from Beaches spent

Peter Lawrence Kane 1
30 Oct 2019

5 Previous-Gen Games that Make Me Wonder Where the F*** It All Went Wrong

by Xan HolBrook  It seems that, from eye-watering price tags to greasy gambling mechanics to endless bloody social controversies, the games industry is heading for the inaugural Queen’s Award for Most Ironically Christened Shitshow. Well, if Brexit can happen… Aging pillocks like me with a mortgage, job and girlfriend, who

Guest Writer 0